A blog is born…

October 10, 2007

After months of cosmetic dentistry, Prime Minister Gordon Brown still couldn’t quite bring himself to call a general election. The long winter nights are drawing in and with no election to get all worked up about I thought I would start a blog. Blogging is on the wane. One can only hope that the better blogs will persist as others die a death. It will be interesting to see if this one is still going a year from now.

I am an Oxford-based graduate research student working on the theology of James Ussher (1581-1656), specifically his thought on the doctrines of atonement and justification. My wider interests include the English and Irish Reformations, Puritanism and Post-Reformation Scholasticism. Atonement and justification are hot potatoes today too, so I try to keep abreast of the plethora of literature on the subjects but there are only so many hours in the day.

These are the subjects that will be sporadically blogged about, as well as the odd ‘funny’. I will also try to share thoughts on the practice of researching historical theology.

2 Responses to “A blog is born…”

  1. Marty Foord Says:

    Dear Richard,

    Picked up your blog from the coventicle. So glad to see that your researching Ussher! I have his works sitting right behind me now as I type. Can’t wait to see what your research reveals and look forward to read your blog posts.

    I’m currently working on a doctorate on John Owen, so I’ve to dip into Ussher here and there. Hope you don’t mind, but I’ve put a link to your blog from mine.

    God bless,

    Marty.

  2. RS Says:

    G’day Marty
    Thanks for your comment – the first and so far only. I am an Owen fan too. Watch this space…!
    RS


Leave a Reply

